Skip to content

Making Art out of Missed Connections

October 22, 2009

Hopeful, pathetic, call them what you like but I think everyone can agree that the Missed Connections section is inspiring. I always like to keep the exercise of writing a scene from a missed connection ad in my back pocket when I’m feeling the urge to write, but Sophie Blackall turns to representing them more visually. Her blog, Missed Connections, showcases her beautiful, haunting illustrations depicting the ads.

I never thought I would fulfill my love of Missed Connections and my love of illustration all in one place, but here we are. I have been a fan of Sophie’s illustrations for a long time and am not at all surprised she can pull these off so beautifully. If you’d like to buy a print, her work is for sale on Etsy. You can also visit her site here.

Originally written September 30, 2009

2 Comments leave one →
  1. artgirlrachel permalink
    October 22, 2009 7:16 pm

    Very cool illustrations. I think love is the hardest thing to create art about.

Trackbacks

  1. A Moment With: Sophie Blackall « Celeste Kaufman's Portfolio

Leave a Reply

