Skip to content

Brown Bagging it Just Got Cuter

October 24, 2009
tags:

It was when my tuna fish sandwich somehow leaked tuna juice in my bag last week that I decided I was finally going to do this craft project I’d been saving for awhile. I found a bunch of people were taking the pattern of a basic brown bag and updating it to an adorable reusable lunch sac made of oilcloth.

I started with this pattern from Tumbling Blocks , but once I realized I had no idea what she was talking about when it came to assembly I turned to, who else? Martha Stewart .

I got this cute take on classic gingham oilcloth from P S Fabrics in Chinatown on 360 Broadway (which also has a good selection on cheap yarn).

I strongly suggest not sewing oilcloth by hand. My fingers hurt so badly from shoving the needle through the fabric.

I accidentally got twice as much fabric as needed, so I’m going to use the excess for a wee matching picnic blanket.

Now I just need to come up with more packable lunches…that’s always the tough part.

Originally written May 24, 2009

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

