Skip to content

Fall Fashion, My Way

October 26, 2009

I’ve been slowly but surely gathering a vision for my look this Fall, and the items that go with it. I got inspired to play around with Polyvore again and came up with three anchor looks that capture the style I’m going for. It’s pretty exciting because I actually have a lot of pieces that look a lot alike to what I picked out here, so it’s not so far off to imagine.

1.

Fall 1

Once again going for a modern take on the classics. As always, Breakfast at Tiffany’s is not far out of my mind. I’ve been attracted to structured shift dresses and own one very similar to this (that cost a fraction of the price). I’m not shying away from jewelry; I like how these strike a balance between delicate and tough looking. And, of course, I’m going to need a classic patent leather Louboutin pump.

2.

Fall 2 Take 2

I’ve developed a bottomless obsession with exposed zippers (the dress I have that resembles the one above has one running down the back). Again, I love a mix of tough and girly and the twist De La Renta gave to a sophisticated wool jacket. I hate how the seasons for pairing jackets and open-toed shoes is so short because it’s one of my favorite looks. There’s an obvious pattern emerging here: new takes on the old, unexpected matches.

3.

Fall 3

And, finally, my take on collegiate casual. For some reason I tend towards a more boyish look when I’m dressing down. I like to think of old-timey male writers sitting at their typewriters and smoking a pipe while looking out the window of their cabin into the woods. I love the slouchy Grandpa sweater trend and I FINALLY (after a -I kid you not- TWO YEAR search) have found a beautiful belt that magically works for both the hips and waist. And, while it seemed I rotated between only three pairs of jeans last winter, I feel my denim collection is finally complete.

So, there you have it. Sophisticated meets rock n’ roll. Old meets new. Boy meets girl. That pretty much sums it up.

Originally written August 5, 2009

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

