Skip to content

Lady Noise

October 26, 2009

Like any normal human being, I have a healthy obsession with music, but unlike most of my peers, it is a quiet one (see relative lack of posts about music). However, I feel that I can not keep my mouth shut about Noisettes. Yeah, so I’m a bit late in discovering them (their sophomore album is coming out in the U.S this year), but this London based group is exactly my style. Their first album, What’s The Time Mr. Wolf? reminds me of another favorite, Juliette and the Licks, with some Gossip and perhaps a bit of oldschool No Doubt thrown in. Take, for example, “The Count of Monte Christo” and “Don’t Give Up.” Their new album, “Wild Young Hearts” has more of a dance feel a la Lily Allen with a hint of that old timey revival (think Duffy, Adele, Amy Winehouse etc). The first single, “Don’t Upset the Rhythm” is the least representative of their style (isn’t it always?) but it’s still fun in that “I’m going to bounce around my apartment drunk” kind of way. Another great track from the new record is “Wild Young Hearts.” But, if that wasn’t enough to convince you, lead singer, Shingai Shoniwa, is one of the coolest looking lady rockers that I’ve seen in a long time. I mean, just look at her go.

Originally written June 10, 2009

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

