Skip to content

Take a Trip Through the 72 Year History of Chocolate Chip Cookies

October 26, 2009

I can’t believe that the chocolate chip cookie is only 72 years old. Can you even imagine a world without them? To honor this treasured treat Cake Spy created an illustrated timeline of the cookie’s history. I didn’t even know there was so much to learn about a dessert! It starts with the creator, Ruth Wakefield, discovering the recipe by accident when she chopped up some chocolate to toss into her batter, expecting it to melt. Instead, they kept their shape and dotted the cookies with a soft, tasty surprise. I love how she exchanged the recipe to Nestle for a lifetime’s supply of chocolate! Some other interesting facts I picked up:

-The phrase “smart cookie” entered America’s lexicon in 1948

-Chips Ahoy! debuted in 1963

-The Chipwich was created in 1980 (and now I’m seriously craving one of those)

-But what I found most shocking was that chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream wasn’t invented until 1991, and it was by Ben And Jerry’s! This means that I was alive in a time when this ice cream didn’t exist.

Well, I’m glad things are right with the world nowadays. If you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go get the box of Entemenn’s cookies I have in my pantry…

Originally written July 17, 2009

One Comment leave one →
  1. urdead2me permalink
    May 16, 2010 3:04 pm

    RIP – Richard LaMotta, 67, liked to dunk cookies in milk. Who’d a thunk you could make a career out of it? Voila the Chipwich. Oft imitated, never duplicated, but eliminated by corporate greed – a victim of it’s own success.
    http://urdead2me.wordpress.com/2010/05/11/rip-richard-lamotta/

Leave a Reply

