Skip to content

Hey Gap,

November 16, 2009
tags:

what is this shit?

I watched your 2009 holiday commercial for the first time today and I can’t even begin to tell you how disappointed I am.

Where is the warmth? Where is the lovely song? Where is the humor? Where are the random celebrity cameos? Why did you take speed this year? Get out of my face and then maybe I’ll buy a freaking sweater.

I’ll save the Christmas-is-just-a-commercial-excuse tirade for another blogger, but let’s call a spade a spade. Part of what I consider holiday spirit is getting all those Christmas-jingles stuck in my head, (the Hess truck’s back, anyone?) and admittedly one of the one’s I look forward to every year is seeing what Gap has come up with. Nothing will really top my personal favorite, the Love Train one of 2002:

(PS: Did you notice Rashida Jones is in that one? Upon a perusal of awesome old Gap ads I stumbled upon her a handful of times)

Then of course there was the Glamorous/Colorful/Cozy Gifts run that featured Sarah Jessica Parker in all three. But the best is clearly Glamorous since it also has JC Chasez in it, therefore linking the loves of my Christmas Pasts to my Christmas Presents.

Even recently their commercials have been completely on the mark. Take the Selma Blair/Rainn Wilson one from two years ago, for example:

I love it!

These are classics man. This new one is just obnoxious. Come on, Gap. If this isn’t an attack on Christmas, I don’t ‘know what is.

But for now, I’ll leave you with the best Gap commercial ever, regardless of the time of year:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

