Skip to content

Dressing For the Holidays

November 28, 2009

There are a few things I always look forward to this time of year, and one of my favorites is dressing for the holidays. I’ve always felt that holiday parties are an excuse to go all out in what you wear, try things you might not have tried throughout the rest of the year and maybe get in touch with your inner drag queen. This year I’m embracing two trends I’ve tended to turn my cheek to: romanticism and sequins. I guess they channel my split feelings of nostalgia and an insatiable urge to party.

Since the dresses for the season tend to be more over the top than usual, shoes should be simple and elegant while the jewelry should be on the smaller side and stick to classic shapes. This Alexander Wang dress and Jimmy Choos would be perfect for drinks with your friends.While sequins make a bold statement, it’s equally appropriate to have a completely soft look like this one. This silk tiered dress and satin champagne heel definitely doesn’t shy away from femininity. It’s difficult for me to have one look head to toe, so I might pair this with black tights just to add a little bit of edge.It’s obviously important to have a good party look in your cycle for the holidays. Sequins, sparkle and swing are the perfect equation for a night out on the town. This Juicy Couture dress doesn’t lack in sex appeal and these BCBG heels could accompany pretty much any look this season.This outfit is far from a Christmas sweater, but it still has a subtle nod to the favored themes this time of year. Don’t worry, I guarantee you won’t be mistaken for Mrs. Claus in this beautiful Herve Leger dress and patent peep toes.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

