Skip to content

Wishes For the New Year

December 29, 2009

Everyone’s been making lists looking back on the year and the decade lately, but I’d like to take a moment to look forward. It’s why I love New Year’s. I spend an unfortunate amount of time stuck in the past, and New Year’s allows me to put that all behind me once and for all and look toward the future with hope and optimism and (because this is me we’re talking about, after all) a dash of crippling anxiety. 2010 will undoubtedly be a huge year. It’s a big year for me personally, as I graduate college and wait around for someone to finally discover my blog, offer me a career based on it and start forming a life where I get paid to do what I love. But it’s also poised to be a groundbreaking year for pretty much every factor of our lives. I found out that there will be a full moon on New Year’s Eve, which I’m taking to be a good sign because with the state of my life/country/world being what is is right now, I’m looking for all the good signs I can get. But I’m going to bring it down to a smaller scale, and make some predictions and hopes about the categories I write about here on the blog.

Art

For 2010, I would like there to be just one famous artist. In my lifetime I have only encountered two names that everyone’s been talking about in the art world and I can’t even remember the name of one of them (I’m referring to Shepard Fairey and the couple who did the gates in Central Park). Has there honestly not been anyone good enough to merit some buzz since Jeff Koons? I just want someone I can be excited about and have people discussing their work instead of maybe what was on the latest-and-greatest reality show. Sadly, I think this will be my most far-fetched hope for the year.

Books

And while we’re on the topic of far-fetched, I would like a novel to come out next year with a great heroine. I haven’t related to a female character since Harriet the Spy and haven’t gotten excited by one since Hermione. What about my post “chapter-book” life? Is Elizabeth Gilbert and Julie Powell and their beach-read memoirs really all I have to turn to? I want a heroine who is empowering and inspiring, whose trials and tribulations don’t revolve around turning thirty and finding love. I think the only novel I’ve read that accurately portrays “the female experience” in a way I found interesting was Margaret Atwood’s Cat’s Eye and I simply won’t stand for that statistic. Maybe I’ll just have to write it myself: New Year’s Resolution, anyone?

Decorating

I actually don’t really have any complaints about where the world of decorating is at right now. I’m a big fan of this “thrifty chic” trend that celebrates quirky styling and DIY charm. I was tired of all that minimalism and modernism. This is my home and I want it to be cozy and welcoming, not standoffish and cold. I have a feeling this aesthetic isn’t going anywhere, either, thanks to our glowing economy.

Fashion

From what I could tell from Fashion Week, I’m looking forward to where fashion is going this year. Designers seemed to have lightened up a little bit and not just in ways that referenced eighties trash (sorry). The runways had been looking so drab and sober in previous seasons but this time around I saw a lot of references to more fun-filled times of yore like the twenties and sixties. Fabrics were light and colorful; draping tended to be preferred over tailoring. I’m ready for a more relaxed approach to fashion, aren’t you? As for what I’d like to see change, I’d like to see this embrace of hats go from the runway to the sidewalks. I’ve always been a hat girl and I’m tired of only seeing those floppy knit hats and an occasional fedora when someone’s feeling really ballsy. I’m also taking a fondness for pins; and not those ones with sassy sayings, but nice brooches like our grandmothers wore.

Food

I’ve ranted about how I’m over the cupcake and bacon before, so I propose a new trend: the cookie. I know it’s not a groundbreaking idea or anything, but  the holiday cookie madness has gotten me longing for year-long cookie madness. I want cookie cookbooks and cookie bakeries and crazy cookie innovations. Also, I think the cookie party should be 2010’s answer to the book club. I’ve also decided that I’m tired of Asian being the cuisine du jour. I’m as big a fan of Thai food as everyone else, but I’d like something else have the spotlight for a change. I’m throwing my vote in for Latin American fare.

Movies

I thought 2009 was a pretty terrible movie year. My favorite movie was a cartoon (Up), only followed by a chick flick (Julie and Julia), two documentaries (The September Issue and Valentino:The Last Emperor) and a made-for-TV-movie (Grey Gardens). That list doesn’t exactly include what is usually considered “a good movie.” I really don’t understand why this was the year the Oscars decide to expand their Best Picture category. Did they want to make room for All About Steve? This is supposed to be the highlight of the year for great movies and there is barely anything out there enticing me to the theaters. So, for 2010 I hope that there will be good movies. That’s it, really.

Music

In 2010 I’d like to find a new favorite band. Right now the closest I have is Lady Gaga and while I am a constant defender of her’s, I still find that a little embarrassing. I watch it happen around me all the time: people get excited about someone new and buy their CD and listen to it over and over again, memorizing the lyrics, memorizing stalker-ish facts about them, racing online the day concert tickets are on sale to be sure they secure some and talk about seeing them live as if they saw Jesus. I haven’t had that obsession in a long time. There are artists I love, there are songs I listen to on repeat for an absurd amount of time, but nothing’s clicking. I don’t know what I’m looking for exactly. I always fall for a nice combination of unexpected genres. I was digging the retro lady movement for a while but they ended up homogenizing. I want something new and not the same ol’ regurgitated fare. Just another far-fetched wish, I guess.

Social Issues

Well, what can I hope for in this realm that hasn’t been lamented over and over and over and over and OVER again in the media and our living rooms? I’d like the Democrats to get something done already, but I’d also like the critics to back off a little and understand that it is impossible for Obama to cash in on all his promises in less than a year. I’d like the economy to be fixed and I’d like the Middle East to be fixed and health care to be fixed and other little tiny thangs like that. I’m happy that people are starting to give women’s issues the attention they deserve, but I’m worried that they’ll become trivialized as a trend like has happened with the green movement. I feel like it’s pointless to elaborate on any of these things in what is supposed to be just a wee paragraph, so I’ll leave it at that. But I think this is the area that could be worked on the most, just sayin’.

So, 2010, there you have it. That’s what I’m wishing for as the clock strikes midnight in two days. We have high expectations for you, so you better follow through, or else!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

