Skip to content

I Am Obsessed With Obsessive Consumption

April 13, 2010

I don’t know what tickles me so much about Kate Bingaman-Burt’s new book, Obsessive Consumption: What Did You Buy Today? but I am in love with it. Over three years, illustrator Bingaman-Burt drew every single thing she purchased and has now collected the images in a book that is arranged with wit and whimsy. Part calorie-counting equivalent, part journal, part social commentary, the idea of building up a character and life from one’s purchases is very appealing to me. Besides, her style is just so deliciously pleasing. There are a surprising amount of images available through the Amazon preview and racked.com , but I cannot wait to get my hands on a copy.

Come to think of it, a reason I might be drawn to this book so much is because it reminds me of that book series I used to love and try desperately to copy: Amelia’s Notebook. Take a trip down memory lane with me, courtesy of the author, Marissa Moss’, website.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

