Skip to content

Snap, Crackle, Pop This Summer

July 4, 2010
tags:

I’ve been seeing homemade popsicle recipes popping up all over the place this summer and I have been dying to give them a shot. But, I was thrown by the need for popsicle molds. I thought it would be one of those pieces of equipment that I would love to use, but couldn’t bring myself to buy like a juicer, pie bird or mandoline. Then, as I was wandering around a dollar store, there they were! A set of six popsicle molds for a dollar, that even have a straw at the base to avoid melt spillover. Sold.

I’ve been gathering recipes to test my best purchase ever with and here are the ones I’ve found most intriguing. As I try them out, I’ll give an update to see how they work and taste. It’s a tough job, but someone has to do it.

1. Pudding Pops by Let’s Get Cookin‘ These look really fun and tasty. I’m a bit worried about texture, but we’ll see how they go.

2. Razzle Raspberry Creamsicle from Weston A. Price I like the idea of making popsicles with a yogurt base. I’d imagine it would make a nice, creamy treat.

3. Frozen Strawberry Peach Pops from Country Living This combination sounds delicious. It’s a little extra work, since it involves making syrup and prepping the peaches, but it seems worth it.

4. Grapefruit Lime Cilantro Pops from Chow Mama I’m very intrigued by the idea of mixing fruit with herbs for a dessert. These will either be amazing, or gross. We shall see. (Update: Test Kitchen post here.)

5. Mojito Pops from Erin Cooks Of course I like the idea of a boozy, adult popsicle. Mojitos are one of my favorite drinks, so it’ll be fun to see how they translate to popsicle form. (Update: Test Kitchen post here.)

6. Tea and coffee ice pops from Chicagonista This is a nice, easy option to just freeze tea or coffee. It sounds very refreshing, but I’ll probably have some fun with the cooler popsicles before trying this out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

