Skip to content

Kudos to Kudulah

September 26, 2010

I had a lovely afternoon strolling along the Atlantic Antic in Brooklyn today. As with all street fairs, I knew what to expect and was planning on maybe getting some lemonade or mozzarella sticks (which I realized the other day that I haven’t eaten in years and needed to remedy) and really just focus on people-watching. But then, I saw it. The Kudulah booth.

This NYC artist does a series of paintings featuring cute little monsters on the subway, in the sea, and with retro pinup girls. There’s also a series of the critters in jars, which I did like but it kind of made me sad because I wanted to see them be free. According to his website, the creatures are inspired by the things he sees late at night in the city, and this is his way of making them be less scary. I just love that idea. Look at them go:

And then this is the one I got. I love it so.

This was the first piece of art I’ve ever bought. (You know, like real art, that isn’t just a print or a poster.) I’ve been excited for this little milestone for a while now, and have been waiting to find something that really speaks to me.  I feel like this was created just for me. It’so fun and silly, and it’s a perfect mix of a few of my favorite things: pinup girls, monsters and reading. What more could you need, really?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    September 27, 2010 12:37 am

    Congrats on your first of what will be many cool art pieces. I really like his monsters in the mason jars….hmmmm….I have room on my art wall

  2. September 27, 2010 7:51 pm

    Awesome! thanks for pickin’ up Brahprobe 1710 Readin’ a Book:)

Leave a Reply

