Skip to content

Oh Captain, My Captain

October 2, 2010

Is it just me, or was Dior’s Spring ’11 show decidedly un-Dior-like?

Bright  colors?

Cutesy tropical prints?

Sportiness?

I’m not really sure what to feel here. I’ve come to expect a certain look and feel at the Dior show since, say, the fifties, so to see something so far off The Usual is a bit disconcerting. But perhaps it’s a sign of growth for a designer to depart from what has become his iconic style? There were a few looks in the collection that I did enjoy, but it didn’t feel right to me. I just can’t make up my mind.

What I did know is that the show kind of made me want a sailor hat. And that I had that song from the nineties stuck in my head the whole time I was looking through the pictures. “Sail away, sail away, sail away!”

The Still Slightly Dior-esque Looks:

The “Wait, What Show Is This Again?” Looks

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

