Skip to content

Doubleyou Tee Eff, Facebook

October 6, 2010

I am angry.

Very angry.

I am extra angry, because this anger was spurned after coming home from a “Purl N’ Pints” Meetup that was filled with deliciously dorky goodness.

My internet has been essentially broken all day (don’t even get me started on that), and when I came home I was happy to see it working again. Until I went on Facebook and started seeing all of the “I like it on” statuses. I rolled my eyes, wondering what coy little viral campaign this was supposed to be benefiting. On the slight chance that you didn’t see any, girls were posting vague statuses like “I like it on the floor,” or “I like it on the desk.” Clearly it was supposed to sound sexual, but obviously it wasn’t supposed to be about sex.

It turns out, as I read on some explanatory comment, that it’s supposed to be about breast cancer. In a similar move to the “post what bra color you’re wearing” trend last year (which was annoying, but somewhat tolerable), it was somehow trying to raise awareness about the disease. I assumed it was supposed to be along the lines of “oh, boobs are sexy, so let’s not lose them” or something stupid like that, but when I looked into it, it turns out it’s so much worse. Apparently, the thing they like on the floor, or the desk or everywhere, is their purse.

What?

WHAT?

How does that make any freaking sense whatsoever? What does that POSSIBLY have to do with raising awareness or support? Not a single article I found could explain it any more in depth than the weak as hell statement that “they want to have only girls in on the joke and purposely leave men out of it.” GREAT FUCKING IDEA. (Sorry, I was trying so hard not to curse.) Let’s come up with yet another cutesy bullshit campaign, only this time let’s leave half of the population that can help out of it. Let’s turn a deadly disease into something that girls get together and giggle about like ohemgeeboys, periods and chocolate cupcakes.

Not only is this the worst breast cancer campaign I have ever heard of, but it is beyond offensive. I think all of these things are. It drives me crazy. I hate Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Yeah, I said it. And, for the record, my mom died of breast cancer.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m obviously for people donating money to help research and everything, but year after year these stupid movements become increasingly more of an excuse for commercialization. I will never buy some titillating shirt that says “I ❤ Boobs,” or any thing that’s Special Breast Cancer Pink because, with rare exceptions, it is so obvious to me that their true motivation is getting people to buy their product over anyone else’s, not for the 2% proceeds they’re supposedly going to donate. Unless it’s something that’s donating 100% of the proceeds, than it is just the sleaziest scam and I hate how accepted they are.

Sure, silly campaigns like these Facebook trends are basically harmless, but that’s just it. They’re silly. They turn it into something to wink about and whisper about, something sexy and fun. It’s just wrong.

End of rant.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

