Skip to content

Cherry on a Sundae

February 27, 2011

I like Moschino because whenever I hear the name I think of Maraschino cherries, and Maraschino cherries make me happy. Also, because they make cool clothes. I love how they take classic shapes and infuse them with splashes of patterns, prints and bright color. This collection was another showing of what they do best (although it was perhaps a bit reserved for them). There was a strong focus on the classic masculine/feminine dichotomy, and a nod to the seventies trend with a handful of gold lamé pieces. I don’t have a whole lot to say about it, but there are a few things that need to be mentioned. Namely, that Rosella Jardini sent Coco Rocha down the runway with a freaking chicken on her head:

Say what?

The funny thing is, I didn’t even notice at first. It wasn’t until three or four looks later when I was like “………..wait a minute……” If that isn’t a mark of a good designer, I don’t know what is. In fact, I hope that was the joke: “You are going to focus so much on my awesome clothes, that I’m going to send a supermodel down the runway with a chicken on her head and you ain’t even gonna notice. HA.”

Also, I am freaking obsessed with the glasses in the show:

Oh hey, hipster Holly Golightly.

Wearing glasses with evening wear? So cute.

Even though seeing neutrals at a Moschino was a bit alarming, she still did them beautifully:

I also enjoyed her series of jackets that either made me want to compete in a horse show, be a pilot, or captain a ship. I couldn’t really decide. Although, sometimes they resembled Chanel just a bit too much:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

