Skip to content

Pucci Is Over It.

March 1, 2011

For many, Pucci is the epitome of sixties’  fashion with its psychedelic prints, bold color palettes, and loose draping. Now, when designers are majorly turning to the hippies as inspiration across the fashion world, Pucci shows a collection that is its largest divergence from its norms.

For those of you who don’t necessarily have an image of an iconic Pucci look in their minds, here’s what we’ve been used to for decades:

The Sixties
The Sixties
Spring 2011

This season, while still showing hints of Bohemia, had a overall more somber feel.  Don’t think for a second, though, that I’m saying change is bad here. The show was one of my favorites of the season so far. With nods to his Fall 2010 collection, which showed similar restraint,  the color palette was rich cool colors, save for the splashes of peacock blue and grape. Even though there were a few classic printed dresses, the decadence was mostly in the subtle detailing. The tailoring was impeccable, and there was a shocking focus on modern, body-conscious sex appeal. There was still a sense of the classic Pucci muse of The Free Spirit, but perhaps she is a bit more grown up now. It’s an interesting new direction for the designer to take. Are the days of collections full of flowy, printed gowns gone forever? I’m not really sure what I want the answer to be.

GOD I love this look. It is amazing. I want that coat so badly. And the shirt. And the pants. And the shoes. But mostly the coat. I also want the bag.

The most classic Pucci look in the collection.

LOOK AT THAT FREAKING CAPE. Have I written yet about how much I love capes? Because I love capes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 11:40 pm

    Though I enjoy reading your blog, I know absolutely nothing about fashion. I suppose this is how I will learn! Hooray!

    • March 1, 2011 11:44 pm

      Don’t worry, it is only this fashion-oriented because it’s Fashion Week. Only one more left to go, and then it will be more varied!

Leave a Reply

