Skip to content

Hominy Hominy Hominy

November 18, 2011

Recently, I found myself with a rare food dilemma which I solved pretty damn well, so if you’re looking for something new to try, I thought I’d share. What had happened was that I wanted to make posole, and discovered that my neighborhood supermarket is too cool to have the easy canned hominy all nice and cooked and conveniently portioned. They only had a large bag of the uncooked grains that take two hours to cook. I only needed about a quarter of the bag, and was then left wondering what the hell I was going to use all this hominy for besides making posole three more times. (My posole was very tasty, but that idea bored me.)

So, I came up with this dish that I’ve made twice in a month because it just hits the spot. I don’t know what to call it, so for now it’ll just be my Southwestern Stew.

What You’ll Need

3 chicken breasts, cut into pieces

about a 1/2 cup of hominy

2 green peppers

1 red onion

1 can black beans

1 can diced tomatoes

salt and pepper

cumin

cayenne pepper

paprika

garlic powder

oregano

sour cream

 

1. Boil the hominy until cooked, about two hours.

2. Cook the chicken, peppers, and onion in a pan until cooked through.

3. Once hominy is cooked, add can of beans and tomatoes to heat. (Or, if using a can of hominy, heat them all together.)

4. Combine the two and add spices and stir until incorporated.

5. Serve with a dollop of sour cream.

 

It’s hearty comfort food and will last you three or four meals.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

