Skip to content

And So Ends Another Year in New York…

October 26, 2009

It seems like Thakoon realized a lot of attention would be focused on his show, thanks to The September Issue, so he pulled out all the stops.

I’m not saying I would wear any of the pieces here, but how can you not smile at Betsey Johnson? If this really was her last show then Fashion Week will never be the same without her cartwheels.

I couldn’t quite follow Proenza Schouler’s vision, (apparently they’ve even admitted it to be a “tricky” collection) but I thought this skirt was brilliant.


It physically hurt me to try and pick just one Oscar de la Renta look from this collection. Every thing he sent down the runway was gorgeous.

Philip Lim showed a perfect balance between the classics and innovation.

The eras of inspiration this season seemed to be split between Jazz Age and the sixties. I thought Anna Sui’s take on Mod was cute and fresh.


Minus the leave-the-model-for-dead-in-a-snowbank styling, Doo.Ri’s collection was tres chic.

So, who else forgot that Isaac Mizrahi, you know, designs things from time-to-time? I loved the hats, and he even got me to like something yellow!

All in all, I thought New York’s Fashion Week was a big pick-me-up this season. I haven’t felt particularly inspired from the past few go arounds but this really had some beautiful things to show us that I can actually see myself trying to recreate. Personally, there isn’t too much I’m excited for during London’s week (except for Vivienne Westwood, of course, ) but I’m anxiously awaiting to see what Paris has to offer. Something tells me it’s going to be incredible…

Originally written September 19,2009

No comments yet

Leave a comment