Skip to content

Girls Just Want to Have Fun

November 5, 2009

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been a fan of MAC’s campaigns since Dita Von Teese’s run in 2007, but I couldn’t be more thrilled with their choice of spokesladies for their MAC AIDS fund: Cyndi Lauper and Lady Gaga.

Cyndi Lauper was one of my first favorite musicians (somewhere between Raffi and the Spice Girls) and I’ve always admired her style and spirit. And Lady Gaga, well, what more do you have to say? I tried to resist her gravitational pull but how can you resist? The lady is, quite simply, entertaining. I think they’re great fits for MAC and, in one fell swoop, they managed to incorporate their target audience spanning 25 years. Having women like Cyndi Lauper and Lady Gaga is much more effective than any ol’ model or the starlet du jour. All of the other beauty campaigns are sending the message of “use our products and you’ll be pretty,” while this direction says “use our products and you’ll be strong, independent, creative, unique, spunky.” Let’s just say, I’d buy something Cyndi’s selling me over Scarlet Johansen any day.

Their ads will start running in February and their lipsticks (Viva Glam Cyndi and Viva Glam Gaga) will be available in March. They’ll be around $14, but all of the proceeds will go to the MAC AIDs fund. I can’t wait to see what colors they’ll be. I’m guessing something hot pink for Cyndi, but with Lady Gaga you could go in any direction, right?

No comments yet

Leave a comment